"Items in Analytical Abstracts fall into three main categories: Journal articles, technical reports, and books. More than 250 key international journals are scanned regularly by the Analytical Abstracts editorial team. Over 75% of the original material is published in English, with other major languages being French and German, Russian and other eastern European languages, Chinese, and Japanese." Updated monthly. Covers 1980-present.

BIOSIS Citation Index searches journal articles, meeting abstracts, and other literature in the life sciences. To find literature about research methods and apparatus, use either Concept Codes or Major Concepts. These two approaches will find different but overlapping results. Methods, including microscopic methods, are assigned the Concept Codes 01004 through 01058, and can be found by searching 010* in the Concept Codes index. The two Major Concepts Equipment Apparatus Devices and Instruments and Methods and Techniques are assigned to literature that is focused on methods. For best results when searching Major Concepts, select the Major Concepts index and click on Select from List.

CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, and other literature in applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, and food science. CAB Abstracts includes the related database, Global Health, which indexes literature in epidemiology and public health from a global perspective. In CAB Abstracts, pull down the list of indexes and select Descriptors, then click on Select from Thesaurus. Search for a term of interest (e.g. methods). Click on the icons next to a term of interest to add the term to your search, view it in the hierarchy of descriptors, or see its description in the thesaurus. If descriptors are not specific enough for your topic, add another search field on the main search page and add more specific words.

MethodsNow is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry. It is a collection of over 2 million synthetic and analytic methods. with more to come: Focused indexing, step-by-step instruction; Details for analytical researchers such as matrix, analyte, instrumentation and comparison capabilities. Synthetic researchers will find relevant content right inside SciFinder, Analytical researchers will find relevant content in a newly-designed interface tailored for their search needs.

PubMed indexes journal articles in biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the controlled vocabulary used to index articles for PubMed, and MeSH is the best approach for finding articles that focus on research methods and apparatus. In PubMed, select MeSH from the list of databases and enter words that describe your method of interest. PubMed can guide you to useful MeSH terms through alphabetical and hierarchical displays. Restricting to MeSH major topic can help narrow a search. Consider using the subheadings. Methods and Instrumentation are two particularly useful subheadings.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering. The database indexes 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, book reviews and biographical information. Each document indexed for SciFinder is assigned one of the 80 Chemical Abstracts sections, and the section title Biochemical Methods is useful for finding articles that describe methods and procedures in biochemistry. In SciFinder, enter a search on a topic of interest and display results. Under the Analyze tab, pull down the list of fields and select CA Section Title. Find Biochemical Methods in the list of section titles.