Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesPhysical properties of materials: Find material properties
Tools to locate, compare, and calculate the physical properties of materials
Find physical properties of materials
There are many databases in which you can find, compare, and calculate physical properties of materials. Some of these databases (listed below) are broad-ranging and cover major, popular, and general materials. These are a good place to start your search. They aggregate data from across multiple works, like reference books and handbooks.
- MatWeb the online materials information resourceCost: Free (premium features available for a membership fee)
Pros: The simple user interface allows you to get started right away.
Cons: You will not be able to access reference books and handbooks from MatWeb - just the numbers.
Help: MatWeb's search strategies - SpringerMaterials Providing access to numerical and graphical data on the properties of materials from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resourcesCost: Stanford affiliates can use the tool at no direct cost
Pros: SpringerMaterials offers data visualization and export features. It also allows you to access the handbooks and reference books from which the data is pulled.
Cons: The interface is complex, and you may need to watch a few tutorials in order to use the tool effectively.
Help: SpringerMaterials User Guide (youtube tutorial) - KnovelCost: Stanford affiliates can use this Elsevier tool at no direct cost
Pros: Serves as a tool to locate material properties as well as a tool to get more background information on materials.
Cons: The user interface is complex, and you may need to watch a few tutorials in order to use the tool effectively
Help: collection of Knovel video tutorials
Find properties of chemicals and compounds
- SciFinderCost: Stanford affiliates can use the tool at no direct cost but will need to register before using the tool.
About: Find inorganic and organic chemical and chemical compound information. Search by name, CAS Registry Number, chemical structure, substructure, or reaction. Find research articles, patents, book chapters, proceedings, reference books, reports, and more.
Help: SciFinder training - ReaxysReaxys Xcelerate is a fully integrated electronic chemistry database that contains organic, inorganic and organometallic substance, property, and reaction data for small molecules housed previously in the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Chemistry Patent databases, as well as Reaxys medicinal chemistry. Includes coverage from 1771-present for 400 journals. Coverage also includes English language-only patents from the major chemistry patent classes of the U.S., European, and World Patent Offices. Reaxys Xcelerate is a premium version of Reaxys that allows faster analysis of results using visualization tools, automates synthesis planning, and uses flexible reporting outputs for sharing their results and annotations with colleagues.
