Synthesizing the best current knowledge about early literacy, this comprehensive handbook brings together leading researchers from multiple disciplines. The volume identifies the instructional methods and areas of focus shown to be most effective for promoting young children's (PreK-2) growth in reading, writing, oral language, and the connections among them.

"The Handbook of Critical Literacies aims to answer the timely question: what are the social responsibilities of critical literacy academics, researchers, and teachers in today's world."

The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.

The Handbook of Research on Integrating Digital Technology With Literacy Pedagogies considers the integration of digital technologies in all levels of literacy instruction and prepares the reader for inevitable technological advancements and changes. Covering a wide range of topics such as augmented reality, literacy, and online games...

This book looks at the cognitive, affective, and motivational factors underlying adult literacy; adult literacy in different countries; and the educational approaches being taken to help improve adults' literacy skills.

At the forefront of current digital literacy studies in education, this handbook uniquely systematizes emerging interdisciplinary themes, new knowledge, and insightful theoretical contributions to the field. Written by well-known scholars from around the world, it closely attends to the digitalization of writing and literacies that is transforming daily life and education.

The Handbook of Research on Pedagogies and Cultural Considerations for Young English Language Learners presents research-based, theoretical frameworks and best practices for teaching young English language learners. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics and perspectives such as co-teaching, inclusion, and social awareness...

The Routledge International Handbook of Early Literacy Education offers a pioneering overview of early literacy provision in different parts of the world and brings together interdisciplinary research evidence on effective literacy teaching to inform current and future practice and policy of early literacy.

Digital Tools for Writing Instruction in K-12 Settings: Student Perceptions and Experiences will provides research about how students use digital tools to write, both in and out of school settings, as well as discuss issues and concerns related to the use of these learning methods.

This volume examines the linkages between spoken and written language development, both typical and atypical. Leading authorities address the impact of specific language-related processes on K-12 literacy learning, with attention to cognitive, neurobiological, sociocultural, and instructional issues.

The International Handbook of Research in Children's Literacy, Learning and Culture presents an authoritative distillation of current global knowledge related to the field of primary years literacy studies.

This handbook marks the transformation of the topic of literacy from the narrower concerns with learning to read and write to an interdisciplinary enquiry into the various roles of writing and reading in the full range of social and psychological functions in both modern and developing societies.

The Handbook of Research on New Media Literacy at the K-12 Level: Issues and Challenges provides comprehensive articles on significant issues, methods, and theories currently combining the studies of technology and literacy.

This handbook synthesizes the best research on K-8 literacy instruction and distills key implications for classroom practice. Noted contributors provide clear recommendations for creating effective, motivating classroom environments; teaching core components of literacy; integrating literacy with content-area instruction; and building a schoolwide literacy program that helps all students succeed.