Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesAsian American Studies: Databases & journals
Databases
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
MLA international bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 3 million records, the MLA Bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, websites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.
The MLA Bibliography is compiled by a staff of subject experts at the MLA office of bibliographic information services and by more than one hundred volunteer specialists, our field bibliographers. Updated frequently throughout the year, the MLA Bibliography indexes more than 70,000 new items annually, enabling researchers to find citations for the latest scholarship as well as publications dating back to the 1880s.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Selected journals
AAPI nexus : Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, policy practice and community
Published by UCLA’s Asian American Studies Center Press, AAPI Nexus is a national journal focusing on policies, practices and community research to benefit the nation’s burgeoning Asian American and Pacific Islander communities. AAPI Nexus draws from professional schools and applied social science scholars as well as practitioners and public policy advocates with the goal of reinvigorating Asian American Studies’ mission of serving communities and generating practical research.
Since 1971, Amerasia Journal has been the leading interdisciplinary journal in Asian American and Pacific Islander studies. For almost five decades, Amerasia Journal has played an indispensable role in establishing Asian American studies as a viable and relevant field of scholarship, teaching, community service, and public discourse.
AALJ’s purpose is to explore the unique legal concerns of the South Asian American, Southeast Asian American, East Asian American, and Asian Pacific American communities, while recognizing the diversity and intersections within Asian American identities. By providing a scholarly foundation for a wide range of Asian American voices, we aim to mobilize the scholarship into action and to promote national understanding and empowerment of Asian Americans.
Asian American literature discourse & pedagogies
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies focuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public.
Founded in 1989, the Harvard University Asian American Policy Review is the first non-partisan academic journal in the country dedicated solely to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian Pacific American community.
Chinese America, history and perspectives
The journal invites original contributions on all aspects of Chinese American history and culture.
The Hmong Studies Journal is a unique and established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world. The Hmong Studies Journal has published 23 volumes and 27 online issues since 1996. Over this time, the Hmong Studies Journal has established itself as the most authoritative and widely cited scholarly journal devoted to academic studies related to the Hmong diaspora and Hmong culture and history.
Journal of Asian American Studies
Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas.
