Storey Online provides access to Charles Ambrose Storey’s (1888-1968) Persian Literature: A Bio-bibliographical Survey, a standard reference work about the Persian literary tradition. Storey’s Survey originally consisted of 5 volumes (1.1, 1.2, 2, 3, and 4), but not all were published. A new volume (no. 5) was published later by François de Blois. Based on Storey’s handwritten legacy preserved by the Royal Asiatic Society, Brill has published the missing volumes, completing the Survey in 2020 and 2021.

Bibliotheca Iranica is a bibliographic blog on Iranian Studies. Arash Zeini created the original blog, and the current version is a collaborative project between a small group of European-based scholars of pre-Islamic Iran and Iranian Studies.   

The Shahnamah Project provides online access to a corpus of illustrated manuscripts of the Shahnama, the Persian epic poem composed by Firdausi of Tus in A.D. 1010. The epic became established as an expression of Persian culture and political ethics throughout the Middle Ages and remains so today, strongly associated with the concept of divinely sanctioned kingly rule, but also rich in stories of the tragedy of the human condition and the complex relations between ruler and subjects, fathers and sons, and would-be lovers. Manuscripts of the Shahnama can be found in libraries throughout southern and western Asia, and in public and private collections in Europe and the United States. Many of the hundreds of manuscripts are royal or princely commissions and contain superb examples of Persian miniature painting and the arts of the book. The project makes accessible information and images of manuscripts and their contents from across the world, emphasizing the significance of the choice of subjects for illustration and the changing relationships between the images and the text.

The Dehkhoda Dictionary or Dehkhoda Lexicon is the largest comprehensive Persian encyclopedic dictionary ever published, comprising 200 volumes. It was first published in 1931.

Iran Open Data is the central hub for datasets from Iran. It makes Iranian government data accessible in machine-readable formats such as CSV and JSON. Iran Open Data aims to become the definitive online platform for meeting the data needs of researchers and ordinary citizens seeking to better understand the policies of the Iranian government.

Calendar Converter is an online calculator for converting dates to and from various calendar systems, including Gregorian, Julian, Hebrew, Islamic, Persian, Kurdish, Afghan, Mayan Long Count, Bahá’í, and French Republican.

Calendar Converter for Near East Historians is a simple calendar conversion utility that displays a given date according to five primary standards: Gregorian, Julian, Hebrew, Islamic, and Persian (i.e., Solar Hijri). Change the date in any of the tables below, then click the corresponding “Calculate” button, and the equivalent date will appear in the other four calendars. There is now limited support for the Ottoman fiscal (or Rumi) calendar, a Julian derivative. In the Hebrew case, the year is also listed according to the Seleucid era. And for the benefit of historians of the later medieval and early modern Persianate world, this converter further indicates the animal year in which the given date falls.

Iran Data Portal features English- and Persian-language social science data on Iran, including socioeconomic data, electoral data, information on political parties, and translations of selected laws and regulations.

Rumsey Map Center provides a unique research, teaching, and learning environment where the antiquarian and modern converge. The Center has two wall-sized, high-resolution screens to help our visitors fully investigate items from our collection. You can expand and zoom into oversized digital copies while viewing the original document simultaneously. The collection items are all available through SearchWorks.

Vajehyab is a comprehensive Persian dictionary online. The database consists of more than 17 dictionaries, including thirteen major Persian dictionaries and four Iranian dialects dictionaries. For each word or expression, it provides entries in Persian-to-Persian dictionaries with translations in English and Arabic.

Ganjoor provides access to the fully searchable text of the works of more than 200 classical Persian poets. The website uses Persian as the primary language. The works of major poets come with audio files.

Abjad Calculator is an online tool to calculate Abjad values of words, terms, and sentences in Persian, Arabic, and Ottoman Turkish. Abjad is an alphabetic numeral code where the 28 letters of the Arabic alphabet are assigned a number/numerical value. It is mostly used in poetry, mathematics, numerology, and for numbering items in lists.

Pars Quran is an online tool where you can search Quran in three languages: Persian, Arabic, and English.

The Chicago Manual of Style helps authors prepare manuscripts for submission to publishers and journal editors. CMS will also be of use to writers, editors, and publishers who are looking for models for procedure and content. Tools include examples of Chicago-style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts.

Stanford Hume Center for Writing and Speaking works with all Stanford students to help them develop rich and varied abilities in every aspect of written and oral communication. In free individual sessions, Hume tutors help students get started on assignments; address and overcome writer's block or performance anxiety; learn strategies for revising, editing, and proofreading; and understand academic conventions in their fields.

EI3 Transliteration Table is developed by Brill and meant as a system for general scholarly use for entries published in the *Encyclopaedia of Islam THREE*. The easiest way to key the transliteration characters is to use a dedicated keyboard for Arabic transliteration.

IJMES Transliteration Table follows a modified Encyclopedia of Islam transliteration system. The guidelines apply to Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish. With Ottoman Turkish, follow the age of your sources in deciding between transliteration and modern Turkish orthography.

ALA-LC Romanization Tables are approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association. The system is used to represent bibliographic information by North American libraries and the British Library (for acquisitions since 1975) and in publications throughout the English-speaking world.

British Library Asian and African Studies Blog promotes the work of our curators, recent acquisitions, digitization projects, and collaborative projects outside the library.