Top South African News Sites
Business Day (Johannesburg)
Cape Times (Cape Town)
Citizen
City Press (Johannesburg)
Daily Maverick (Johannesburg)
Daily News (Durban)
Dispatch Online (East London)
Eye Witness News
Financial Mail (Johannesburg
Herald (Port Elizabeth)
Ilanga (Durban)
Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg)
News24
Rand Daily Mail (Johannesburg)
SABC News
Sowetan (Johannesburg) 
Star (Johannesburg)
Sunday Times (Johannesburg)
Times Daily (Johannesburg)
Witness (Pietermaritzburg)
Die Burger, Beeld, and Volksblad, Vrystaat use Netwerk24

 

South Africa Government Media Contacts
Directory of South African TV and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, community radio stations, community newspapers, foreign media in South Africa, freelance journalists in South Africa.  [KF] 

 

Africa Check
"...a non-partisan organisation that exists to fact-check claims made in the public arena, impartially and fairly" Topices includes - South African strikes, asylum seekers, Malawi HIV/AIDS cure, white South Africans killed by blacks, etc., Resources for fact checking. A partner with the Univ. of Witwatersrand journalism program. New York Times article, 2013 July 24 "Nonpartisan Fact-Checking Comes to South Africa" by Rick Lyman. [KF] http://www.africacheck.org

Die Afrikaner (Pretoria)
In Afrikaans. Online edition of the print newspaper, published by the Herstigte Nasionale Party. https://www.hnp.org.za/die-afrikaner/

Barney
Closed May 31, 2001 due to lack of funding. Had "news and analysis about shares and investments, and the entrepeneurs behind some of the most popular shares on the JSE." From the publishers of Woza and the Cape Town based E-data Ltd. http://www.barney.co.za/

Die Beeld (Johannesburg)
In Afrikaans. Site for the print daily newspaper. https://www.netwerk24.com/za/beeld

Die Burger (Cape Town)
In Afrikaans. 

Business Day (Johannesburg)
Online edition of South Africa's main financial newspaper. http://www.bdlive.co.za/

Business Report
Online edition of the print financial daily newspaper. http://www.busrep.co.za/

Cape Argus (Cape Town)
Online edition of the print Cape Town newspaper. The Weekend Argus appears on Saturday-Sunday. Published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.iol.co.za/capeargus

Cape Business News (Cape Town)
Has a business directory searchable by keyword or concept. http://www.cbn.co.za/

Cape Times (Cape Town)
Online site for the print newspaper. Published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.capetimes.co.za

Channel Africa
The International Radio service of the South African Broadcasting Corporation.  Continent wide news in English, French, Portuguese, Kiswahili, Chinyanja and Silozi.  http://www.channelafrica.co.za/sabc/home/channelafrica

China Express (Johannesburg)
In Chinese. Site is gone, but the Internet Archive has archived pages. Published every Mon. Wed. and Fri., began publication in 1994. http://www.sa-cnet.com/

Citizen
Site for the daily print newspaper. Politics, business, sports, entertainment, etc.  https://www.citizen.co.za/

City Press (Johannesburg)
Online edition of the print Sunday paper aimed at an urban black readership. Nearly half the paper's readers are from Gauteng Province. "was established in 1982 as Golden City Press and was the first national Sunday newspaper aimed at the Black market." Published by RCP Media (a wholly owned subsidiary of Naspers). 

The Continent
A weekly newspaper produced in partnership with the Mail & Guardian. "It showcases the best reporting from journalists across Africa." https://mg.co.za/thecontinent/

Daily Maverick (Johannesburg)
The Daily Maverick is run by an independently owned, private company with no affiliation to any other media group (or political party or religious organisation.) It is funded entirely through advertising." Includes commentary by Mmusi Maimane, Jay Naidoo, Sipho Hlongwane, Mark Heywood & others. http://dailymaverick.co.za/

Daily News (Durban)
Published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. Called Sunday Tribune for Sunday issue. http://www.iol.co.za/dailynews

Daily Sun
Popular news. Reportedly has the largest circulation in South Africa. Part of the Soccer News Lifestyle media group which includes two soccer news sites plus Drum magazine. Owned by Media 24, part of Naspers. https://www.snl24.com/dailysun

Dispatch Online (East London)
Online site for the East London Daily Dispatch print newspaper established in 1872. http://www.dispatch.co.za/

eNCA (Johannesburg)
Independent South African TV news. South Africa's first 24-hour television news service. Launched 2008. https://www.enca.com/

Eye Witness News
Politics, economy, opinion, business, lifestyle, sports, etc. Offices in Johannesburg, Cape Town. https://ewn.co.za/

Financial Mail (Johannesburg)
The online edition of the well-known South African business, economic, and political weekly magazine. A subscriber option provides more information than the free site. Past issues are only open to subscribers. Published by Times Media Ltd. who also publish Business Day. https://www.businesslive.co.za/fm/

Gremlin
Free daily online newspaper for the Garden Route. It is updated at 8am and 2pm weekdays. http://www.thegremlin.co.za/

The Herald  (Port Elizabeth)
Site for the print newspaper. Established 1845. Claims to be the oldest newspaper in South Africa. In Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality, Eastern Cape. https://www.heraldlive.co.za/

iafrica.com
General news, business news, entertainment, classified ads, sports, news, etc. Offers a daily e-mail news service (headlines with links to stories). Partners with 702 Talk Radio, and others. Offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg. http://www.iafrica.com

Ilanga (Durban)
Print KwaZulu Natal newspaper published in Zulu. The Independent Newspaper Group represents the newspaper. The paper was founded by Dr John Dube in 1903.   Les Switzer and Donna Switzer have a history of the paper.  Northwestern and Yale universities have newsprint subscriptions. https://ilanganews.co.za/

Independent Online
Current news from the Cape Argus, Cape Times, Star, Business Report and other Independent News & Media owned sources. http://www.iol.co.za/

Isolezwe
In Zulu. Established 2002. Part of Independent Media (formerly the Argus Group) which includes Cape Argus, Caoe Times and other newspapers. http://www.isolezwe.co.za/

Letaba Herald (Tzaneen)
Formerly the Letaba Lowvelder. Under Previous Publications/ePaper Publications are issues of Phalaborwa Herald, Mopani Herald, and Hoedspruit Herald.  Published by Lumedia Newspaper Group. Based in Tzaneen, Limpopo Province, South Africa. http://www.herald.co.za/

Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg)
South African, African and world news, business, sport and entertainment. Requires a subscription for most content. Free content is from the SAPA (South Afican Press Assoc.). http://www.mg.co.za/

Mercury (Durban)
Online edition of the print morning newspaper published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. Formerly Natal Mercury. http://www.themercury.co.za

News24.com
Online news from major South African newspapers and South African community newspapers. In depth and special reports. From Media24 Limited, NASPERS Centre, Cape Town. http://www.news24.com/

Paarl Post (Paarl)
In Afrikaans and English. Weekly newspaper for the communities of Paarl, Wellington, Franschhoek and environs. Has past issues from two years back. "It has the second largest paid circulation among weekly community newspapers in the country." First published on 14 January 1905. https://www.netwerk24.com/netwerk24/za/paarl-post

The Post (Durban)
Online site for the print newspaper whose audience is mainly the Indian community. Published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.thepost.co.za

Pretoria News (Pretoria)
Daily print newspaper published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.pretorianews.co.za

al-Qalam
"Al-Qalam “The Pen”, is Southern Africa’s leading Muslim newspaper"  http://alqalam.co.za/

Radio 702
Talk radio station.  Maintained by Primedia Broadcasting (Pty) Ltd.  Based in Johannesburg. https://www.702.co.za/

Rapport (Johannesburg)
Weekly print newspaper. https://www.netwerk24.com/rapport

ReKord (Pretoria)
In English and Afrikaans. Online site for the print newspaper. http://www.rekord.co.za/

Rising Sun
Began as a newspaper for the Indian community. News from Lenasia (Gauteng), Durban area, KwaZuu Natal. Community newspaper, crime, local news, schools, classified ads. https://risingsunnewspapers.co.za/

South Africa: the Good News (Bryanston)
Steuart Pennington's site on good news about South Africa. Based in Kwa-Zulu Natal. https://www.sagoodnews.co.za/

South African Broadcasting Corporation
National broadcast media. Established in August 1936. https://www.sabcnews.com/sabcnews/

Sowetan (Johannesburg)
Current news, business, sports, etc. Site for the print daily newspaper. http://www.sowetan.co.za/

Star (Johannesburg)
Online edition for the print daily newspaper published by the Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.thestar.co.za

Sunday Independent (Johannesburg)
Weekly print newspaper published by Independent News and Media (South Africa) Limited. http://www.sundayindependent.co.za/

Sunday Times (Johannesburg)
Online site for the print newspaper. https://www.timeslive.co.za/sunday-times/

Volksblad
In Afrikaans. https://www.netwerk24.com/volksblad

Vukuzenzele (Pretoria)
In English. South African Government news source. Education, health, rural development, jobs, safety, etc. Many stories aimed at young people. Earlier issues report the covid situation. https://www.vukuzenzele.gov.za/

Witness (Pietermaritzburg)
Formerly the Natal Witness. Claims to be the oldest continuously published newspaper in South Africa, first published 27 February 1846. 
http://www.witness.co.za/

Woza News
The Internet Archive archived some issues. Closed May 31, 2001 due to lack of funding. Had South African business and political news. Was an online-only news source run by Kevin Davie, former editor of Business Times. http://www.woza.co.za/news/