Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesPWR: Rhetorics of Health, Illness, and Medicine: Words matter
This guide page supports the program in writing and rhetoric course on health, illness and medicine for PWR1SBB
Wordcraft and terminology
The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Writing by ISBN: 0205297919Publication Date: 1999-07-02The guide offers engaging instruction in rhetoric and composition, a flexible sequence of comprehensive writing assignments, numerous examples of student and professional writing, and thorough guides to research and editing.
The amazing language of medicine : understanding medical terms and their backstories by ISBN: 3319503286Publication Date: 2020This book tells the intriguing and often colorful stories of the medical words we use. The origins of clinical and scientific terms can be found in Greek and Latin myths, in places such as jungles of Uganda and the islands of the Aegean Sea, in the names of medicine's giants such as Hippocrates and Osler, and in some truly unlikely sources.- Concise medical dictionary byISBN: 0191873764Publication Date: 2020Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine, medical research and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology, cardiology and radiology, among other specialist areas.
- Oxford English dictionaryThe online Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter, and these will eventually cumulate to form the complete new edition.
