Skip to Main Content

The Thomas S. Mullaney East Asian Information Technology History Collection: Research award

A brief description of the Thomas S. Mullaney East Asian Information Technology History Collection, with links to materials in the collection and information about the short-term fellowship

Call for Proposals

Stanford University Libraries solicits applications for a short-term research award from scholars wishing to use the Thomas S. Mullaney East Asian Information Technology History Collection, held in the East Asia Library's Special Collections. The Library annually gives two awards, one for an undergraduate and one for an early career scholar, of up to $2000 each in support of research using the Mullaney Collection. The awards are to be used to defray the costs for travel, lodging, food, and other activities associated with the recipient's research trip. 

Scholars working on projects about East Asian modern history, including undergraduates, graduate students and early career faculty, may apply. Selection criteria include the importance, feasibility and promise of the proposed research project as determined by the expertise of the Committee, the quality and detail of the application, and the academic strength of the applicant. Consideration will be given to the contribution the proposed research will make to our understanding of global history of science, technology, society as well as the applicant's qualifications.

The Committee will review all complete applications but will be under no obligation to approve any applicants if no applicant meets the selection criteria.  The Committee shall ensure that proposed budget expenses of awardees include only those expenses reasonably related to the proposed project and shall have the authority to contact the applicant to adjust budget items as appropriate.  The Library cannot help with visas for international applications.

The Library encourages potential applicants to contact the curator, Regan Murphy Kao, for more information about the scope and contents of the collection. Interested researchers are encouraged to submit a detailed project proposal, including a description (1000-2000 words) of proposed activities, a proposed budget for use of award funds, a brief description of other funding received or applied for in relation to the project, a professional curriculum vitae, and a transcript of courses taken and grade earned (students only) via the below form.

The application deadline was April 15, 2022 May 15, 2022 [extended deadline].

Inquiries may be sent via email: Regan Murphy Kao, Head of East Asian Special Collections and Curator of Japanese Collection
reganmk@stanford.edu