Teaching with Special Collections: Introduction

Information about using special collections materials in classes for Stanford instructors

Introduction to teaching with Special Collections

Stanford instructors are invited to select Special Collections materials for either general or subject-specific classes that enhance the teaching and learning experience for their students. Instruction is available in a variety of topics including general introduction to Special Collections, using primary sources, and conducting original research.

For additional information consult the Stanford Special Collections and University Archives' website and LibGuide about Using Special Collections and University Archives.

Highlights from Special Collections and University Archives

Armand Bacou correspondence to his wife and daughter, 1915-1918

Douce Rêverie, Armand Bacou correspondence to his wife and daughter (M2644). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California

Post card depicting ghost of a soldier visiting his lover in her bed.

Stanford Black Student Union fashion show, 1969

Photograph from the Stanford University, News Service, records 1954-2010

Stanford Black Student Union fashion show, 1969, Stanford University, News Service, Records (SC0122 ). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

Black and white photograph of three fashionably dressed students posing at the Stanford Bookstore claw fountain as part of the Black Student Union Fashion January 21, 1969.

Brave and bold weekly

Brave and bold weekly: Collection of Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls (ZZ1). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California

Comic book cover depicting young man discovering an ape man jungle creature.

Photographs and newsclippings

Photographs and newsclippings, Bernice Bing papers (M2651). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California

Black and white photograph of Bernice Bing posed in front of an abstract painting.

Palo Alto and the Leland Stanford Junior University. Probably from the San Francisco News Letter. Three views of the artist’s conception of what the campus would look like when completed

Stanford University print collection (SC1039). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, Calif.

Poster depicting sketches of early Stanford University buildings with a photograph of Leland Stanford Sr in the center.

Center Martin Luther King Jr. singing, annual Southern Christian Leadership Conference staff workshop Penn Center, Frogmore, SC 1966

Center Martin Luther King Jr. singing, annual Southern Christian Leadership Conference staff workshop Penn Center, Frogmore, SC 1966, Bob Fitch photography archive -- Martin Luther King Jr. gallery, 1965-1966, (M1994). Stanford University. Libraries. Department of Special Collections.

Black and white photograph of Martin Luther King Jr. singing, annual Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Boycott Non-UFW Grapes, Gallo Wine

Boycott Non-UFW Grapes, Gallo Wine, Stanford Chicano community records, 1968-1980 (SC0653). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, Calif.

Epitoma in Almagestum Ptolemaei

Epitoma in Almagestum Ptolemaei, Incunabula Collection, The Samuel I. and Cecile M. Barchas Collection in the History of Science and Ideas, Barchas Collection (KA1496 .R4 F). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

Getsl der gazln

Getsl der gazln, Israeli Yiddish entertainment posters (MSS PRINTS 0511). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

The Golden Gate from Telegraph Hill, San Francisco

The Golden Gate from Telegraph Hill, San Francisco, Photographs of the Pacific coast, Carleton E. Watkins, ( 917.94 .W335 FF BB ). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

Sepia toned photograph of vista facing the Golden Gate from Telegraph

Ancient coin, Roman Imperatorial denarius, Julius Caesar

Ancient coin, Roman Imperatorial denarius, Julius Caesar, The Cantor Arts Center collection of ancient coins (M2208). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

Silver Roman Imperatorial denarius coin depicting an elephant with Caesar written below the animal's feet.

The Nativity

The Nativity, Don Simone Camaldolese, 1410, T. Robert & Katherine States Burke collection of late medieval and early Renaissance miniatures (M2223). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

Śpiewy polskie, op. 74, no. 16

Śpiewy polskie, op. 74, no. 16, Frédéric Chopin, Memorial Library of Music Collection, MLM. Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.

One page of handwritten sheet music from Frédéric Chopin

The hands of Ruben Barrales show the juice and dirt from tobacco plants

The hands of Ruben Barrales show the juice and dirt from tobacco plants, David Bacon photography archive (M2468). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.