Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesResource Guide for CISAC Honor Thesis Research : Statistics and data
This guide provides students with resources like article databases, data and policy resources to aid in their literature review and data collection for their thesis work.
Introduction
If you are using statistics or data for your research, you should definitely check out the workshops, online guides, or even make a consulting appointment with the Software Service for Data Science (SSDS) group at Green Library. Below are some key statistical resources that will be useful to get you started and help identify data sources.
If you are working with qualitative or mixed methods research, please reach out to Alesia Montgomery, our Librarian for Qualitative Research.
Statistical Abstracts and Databases
- ProQuest statistical abstracts of the worldThe Statistical Abstracts of the World is a collection of the statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries, both individually searchable and cross searchable. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.
- ProQuest statistical insightProvides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
- StatistaProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- SIPRI DatabasesSIPRI, the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, maintains and makes the following databases freely available: SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database, Military Expenditure Database, Arms Transfers Database, Arms Embargoes Database,and the National Reports Database.
- IMF DataAlphabetic list of macroeconomic and financial datasets available from the International Monetary Fund.
- World Bank Open DataAccess to datasets and microdata collected and published by the World Bank.
Data Archives and Repositories
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchThe Web site provides quick and easy access, with efficient search and browse capabilities, to the world's largest archive of more than 28 digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.
- CESSDA Data CatalogueThe Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives or CESSDA brings together social science data archives across Europe, with the aim of promoting the results of social science research and supporting national and international research and cooperation.
- Harvard DataverseAn open data repository where researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community archive their research data.
- National Data ArchivesA list of European National Data archives from the University of Cambridge's Marshall Library
- List of Domain Specific Data RepositoriesPublicly accessible data repositories where scholars and researchers deposit their data for re-use.
- Qualitative Data RepositoryQDR stores digital data generated and analyzed through qualitative and multi-method research. Registration is required to access and use data.
- Last Updated: Sep 20, 2024 3:34 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.stanford.edu/CISACThesisResearch
- Print Page