Librarian for Anthropology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, and Lusophone Africa
Curator for American and British HistoryAssociate Director, Department of Special Collections
D. Vanessa Kam
Former Head Librarian, Bowes Art and Architecture Library - [On the project from June 2020-July 2021.]
We recognized that this project is going to be a multi-year and ongoing effort. In order to provide support to the artists and families of the artists, we commit to working with donors in order to bring in the collections that support the goals of the Black Graphic Design History collection development initiative in alignment with Cheryl D. Millers vision. To that end, Stanford Library librarians work as a team along-side the leadership of Roberto Trujillo (Associate University Librarian and Director of Special Collections), Matt Maristoca (Associate University Librarian for Public Services and Collection Development), and Michael Keller (University Librarian & Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning).
As collections arrive, we work with the Special Collections Processing team led by Glynn Edwards (Assistant Director, Department of Special Collections) in order to prepare the collections for research use. Future plans include potential online exhibits with the support of our colleagues in the Stanford Libraries' Digital Library Systems and Services (DLSS).
Currently collections are mostly closed until processed, but we invite you to contact us with any questions that you may have about this initiative. We look forward to hearing from and collaborating with Stanford faculty, students and researchers, as well.
