Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
English and language arts education: Background information
This guide is for those interested in the teaching of English and language arts, both research and practice. See also guides to Reading instruction, Writing instruction, Literacy, and Second language learning.
The definitive reference in the field, this volume synthesizes current knowledge on writing development and instruction at all grade levels. Prominent scholars examine numerous facets of writing from sociocultural, cognitive, linguistic, neuroscience, and new literacy/technological perspectives.
This two volume handbook provides a comprehensive examination of policy, practice, research and theory related to English Language Teaching in international contexts. It offers a strongly socio-cultural view of language learning and teaching. It is comprehensive and global in perspective with a range of fresh new voices in English language teaching research.
The Handbook of Research on Curriculum Reform Initiatives in English Education provides research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of a variety of areas related to English education and reform, as well as applications within curriculum development and instructional design. featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as teachers' roles, teaching methods, and professional development.
The Handbook of Research on Engaging Immigrant Families and Promoting Academic Success for English Language Learners is a collection of innovative research that utilizes teacher professional development models, assessment practices, teaching strategies, and parental involvement strategies to develop ways for communities and educators to create social and academic conditions that promote the academic success of immigrant and English language learners.
The Handbook of Research on Pedagogies and Cultural Considerations for Young English Language Learners presents research-based, theoretical frameworks and best practices for teaching young English language learners. Featuring exhaustive coverage on a variety of topics and perspectives such as co-teaching, inclusion, and social awareness...
The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12). Exploring the latest disciplinary and interdisciplinary issues in the field, this is a first-of-its-kind Handbook and contributions are offered from a team of internationally-renowned scholars.
The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.
This comprehensive work guides the reader through current social, cultural and historical analysis on a global scale. The new edition contains a greater range of methodologies, and chapters on: - space and literacy - disabilities and early childhood literacy - digital literacies - indigenous literacy - play and literacy - policy In the Handbook, readers will find coverage of all the key topics in early childhood literacy.
Now in its fourth edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts - sponsored by the International Literacy Association and the National Council of Teachers of English - remains at the forefront in bringing together prominent scholars, researchers, and professional leaders to offer an integrated perspective on teaching the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field.