These proceedings discuss the use of micro-organisms in agriculture and for production purposes such as bio-fuel, their use for bioremediation and in cleaning products, the environmental applications of insects, and environmental risk/safety assessment considerations.
The "Handbook of Maize: the Genetics and Genomics" centers on the past, present and future of maize as a model for plant science research and crop improvement. The books include brief, focused chapters from the foremost maize experts and feature a succinct collection of informative images representing the maize germplasm collection.
This book analyzes the impacts of current and possible future GM crop applications and shows that these technologies can contribute substantially to sustainable agricultural development and food security.
The Set offers a comprehensive review of the commercially relevant transgenic plants developed and presently utilized. Volumes 1-9 cover around 100 plant species, from crops to forest trees. Volume 10 is the master index volume. Provides a valuable and inclusive reference for students, researchers, scientists and industry professionals, studying and working on transgenic plants.
Lysenko became one of the most notorious figures in twentieth-century science after his genetic theories were discredited decades ago. Yet some scientists now claim that discoveries in epigenetics prove that he was right after all. Loren Graham reopens the case, to determine whether new developments in molecular biology validate Lysenko's claims.
The Oxford Book of Health Foods begins with an account of modern concepts of human nutrition, followed by a series of over one hundred accounts of individual health foods and dietary supplements. In all cases the importance of these products in human health is explained, and, for herbal medicines,the evidence for their claimed therapeutic value is given, and toxic effects are described.
A comprehensive compilation of entries illuminates the key trends, activities, and themes in organic, sustainable, and local food, covering consumers, organizations, farming, policies, and much more. comprehensive overview. A bibliography lists key references for readers who wish to follow up on a specific theme
Vegetarianism has been practiced in the United States since the country's founding, yet the early years of the movement have been woefully misunderstood and understudied. By examining the advocates of vegetarianism, including institutions, organizations, activists, and publications, Shprintzen explores how an idea grew into a nationwide community united not only by diet but also by broader goals of social reform.
The Western Herbal Tradition provides a comprehensive and critical exploration of the use of plant medicines through 2000 years of history from Dioscorides to the present day. Written by leading experts who are well known in the field Includes some monographs of which there is little material already available. The bibliographic evidence provided could support applications for registration of Herbal Medicinal Products under the provisions of the Traditional Herbal Medicinal Product Directive.
Chinese herbal medicine has become an increasingly popular method oftreatment for a range of different health conditions - from eczema to fertility problems. This book presents an authoritative introduction to the fundamentals of Chinese herbal medicine. Covering everything from the history to the most important Chinese herbs and their properties to what to expect from a consultation, the book provides readers with all the key information about the theory and practice of this medical system.
Environmental Enforcement Authorities (EEAs), sometimes called Environmental Protection Agencies (EPAs), are the regulatory, monitoring and enforcement agencies of national, state/provincial and local governments worldwide responsible for implementing, monitoring and enforcing environmental legislation. This one-of-a-kind, authoritative handbook offers a comprehensive assessment of the principles and best practice of EEAs throughout the world with a focus on Europe, the USA, Canada, Australia, east and south-east Asia and various other OECD, transition and developing countries.
Gaining momentum globally, sustainable development is beginning to significantly redefine the policies of corporations and governmental entities. Updated throughout, the second edition of this popular resource includes updates on LEED® measurement and verification and a new chapter on cities and carbon reduction.
Global Sustainable Communities Handbook is a guide for understanding and complying with the various international codes, methods, and legal hurtles surrounding the creation of sustainable communities all over the world. The book provides an introduction to sustainable development, technology and infrastructure outlines, codes, standards, and guidelines written by experts .from across the globe.
AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is organized into two data sets. The NAL Public Access Catalog contains citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials. The Article Citation Database contains citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints.
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Provides online access to an extensive collection of full-text articles from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. User interface available in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, and Turkish.
Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology at school or university. With 5,500 entries, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Some search terms to use in SearchWorks and databases
Try these terms when searching in SearchWorks or in the article databases. Use the limiters on the left side of the results page (topics, date, language, etc.) to further limit your results.