Cumhuriyet (Turkish Newspaper)

• Subscription includes access to current issues and digitized archive, including all issues dating back to January 1930.
• Users can search the database by date or by keyword (OCR) 

al-Ahram (Egyptian Newspaper)

• Database includes 45,012 issues, dating from 1875-2015
• Users can search database by date or keyword (OCR)

Center for Research Libraries

• Variety of Digital Collections from different universities and libraries (which are part of the CRL consortium).
• Includes some Arabic newspapers and historic documents

A number of publishers have lifted paywalls and restrictions to allow access to e-resouces during the COVID-19 outbreak, including:

• JSTOR has made accessible more than 300,000 ebooks during the COVID crisis. 

  To see the list of publishers and the e-books available please see the following.  You will need to authenticate using Stanford’s authentication protocol. https://about-jstor-org.stanford.idm.oclc.org/covid19/expanded-access-to-ebooks/ 

If there is a particular e-resource that you need for teaching, please email me (paulinelewis@stanford.edu) and I will see if we can get access.

Kanopy 

• Movie Streaming Database, includes many titles from Middle Eastern Cinema
• Go to Searchworks and search for "Kanopy." Click on the link to access Kanopy site. 
• You can also search directly in Searchworks for Kanopy movie titles
• https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/11055923

Kanopy also offers selections from "The Great Courses." Check out the website for a full list, but here are a few titles related to the Middle East:

• Barbarians of the Steppe
• The Ottoman Empire
• Turning Points in Middle Eastern History
• The History and Achievements of the Islamic Golden Age

Each course is made up of 20-35 episodes that you can select from. I strongly recommend watching each episode in full before assigning it, to make sure that its presentation and narrative are consistent with your teaching goals.

Docuseek

• Offers a wide selection of documentary films, including many related to Middle Eastern Studies
• Peruse subject catalog here http://docuseek2.com.stanford.idm.oclc.org/cart/subject_list

Ottoman History Podcast

• Podcast about the history and culture of the Ottoman Empire, the modern Middle East, and the Islamic world
• Episodes are around 50-60 minutes and typically feature a scholar discussing their research.
• Episodes also include relevant bibliographies
• Podcast series include:
  • Women, Gender, and Sex in the Ottoman World
  • Urban Space in the Ottoman World
  • History of Science
  • Continuity and Transformation in Islamic Law

New Books Network

• Consortium of podcasts about new academic books
• Huge Variety of Topics, including
  • Middle Eastern Studies
  • Israel Studies
  • Islamic Studies

Adam Matthew Digital

• Digital Database offers an array of primary sources (texts and images). Primarily from British archives, but also from elsewhere.
• Curated into a number of "modules" to aid instructors with course development
• Modules containing material related to the Middle East include:
  • Socialism on Film https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12780176
  • Confidential Papers Collection, Middle East, 1839-1969 https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8628176
  • Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 (Suez Crisis aftermath) https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12779797
  • Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
    • 1971-1974; 1975-1978; 1979-1981 https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12779787
  • World Fairs https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12780208
  • Travel Writing https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9950924

UCLA International Digital Ephemera Project

• Online collection of digitized and digital print, images, multimedia, and social networking resources produced worldwide
• Includes videos, sound recordings
• Good resource for student research projects related to current events, such as Arab Uprisings and Political Movements in the Middle East. Highlights include:
  • Tahrir Documents
    • Collection of videos, text, posters, poetry, songs, pamphlets, and other ephemera related to the Egyptian protest movement of 2011.
  • Iraqi, Kurdish, and Yazidi Documents 
    • Multiple collections related to political and cultural phenomena in Iraq and Kurdistan. Includes posters, interviews, advertisements, photographs, films, and other ephemera.
  • Iranian Green Movement
    • Collection of images, videos, and text from social media and print sources related to the protest movement after the 2009 election in Iran. Includes material from within Iran and around the world.
  • Palestinian Museum Digital Archive
    • Large collection of clippings, photographs, letters, legal documents, posters, and other ephemera related to Palestinian culture and history
  • Archived Websites and Social Media
    • Captured digital material related to a variety of topics, including Armenian Politics, ISIS, Turkish-Kurdish LGBT Movements, Turkish political unrest, and Muslim Brotherhood, among other topics.
• https://searchworks.stanford.edu/catalog?utf8=%E2%9C%93&search_field=search&q=UCLA+International+Digital+Ephemera+Project

Wellcome Library Digitized Arabic Manuscripts

• 500 volumes of manuscripts from 10th-20th centuries
• Topics include medicine, pharmacology, cosmology, alchemy, cooking

Eckstein Albums, Skilliter Center for Ottoman Studies 

• Photographs from 1930's Anatolia, taken by a German Jewish physician and photographer.

Arabic Collections Online

• Publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content.
• ACO currently provides digital access to 14,183 volumes across 8,675 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries.

LexiQamus

Ottoman Turkish Database/Dictionary. To access the website, make sure your VPN is turned OFF. You should be prompted to login with your SUNet ID, which will grant you access to the website.

Muftiship Web Archive 

• Preserves websites and online ephemera of muftis and Islamic jurists from around the world 

• Hazine Guide to Online Archives, Digitized Collections and Resources for Middle East, North Africa, and Islamic(ate) Studies
• Hazine Guide to Online Visual Source in Middle East, North Africa, and Islamic Studies 
• Overview of Digital Resources for the Study of the Ottoman Empire and Republic of Turkey (Leiden University)  
• Stanford Guide to Teaching Anywhere
• PWR Guide to Teaching Effectively during Times of Disruption