Guide and manuals to help you complete your work, or to advise you on certain regulations, procedures, or best practices. Topics covered include: Animal Safety, Biosafety & Biosecurity, Campus Safety, Chemical Safety, Construction and Maintenance, Eco/Sustainable Practices, Emergency Preparedness, Fire Safety, General Workplace Safety, Hazardous Materials, Health and Wellness, Lab Safety, Lab Setup and Shutdown, Laser Safety, Occupational Injury and Illness, Radiation Safety, Waste Disposal, and Weather Conditions.
"This faculty handbook is one part of the support Environmental Health and Safety can provide to help you manage these challenges and excel in this critical area. Designed for both new and existing faculty, it is intended to help you understand your responsibilities, provide streamlined information on the various requirements for performing research, and offer guidance on best practices for health and safety management. This document also gives a high-level overview, but does not replace, the content from several other safety manuals such as the Chemical Hygiene Plan, Biosafety, and Radiation Safety Manuals." (publisher's description)
"Prudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent Practices in the Laboratory will continue to serve as the leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students." (publisher's description)
The U.S. Department of State charged the Academies with the task of producing a protocol for development of standard operating procedures (SOPs) that would serve as a complement to the Chemical Laboratory Safety and Security: A Guide to Prudent Chemical Management and be included with the other materials in the 2010 toolkit. To accomplish this task, a committee with experience and knowledge in good chemical safety and security practices in academic and industrial laboratories with awareness of international standards and regulations was formed. The hope is that this toolkit expansion product will enhance the use of the previous reference book and the accompanying toolkit, especially in developing countries where safety resources are scarce and experience of operators and end-users may be limited.
"Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 "Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor's Degree Programs" Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school." (publisher's description)
"The purpose of this booklet is to provide an overview of the key issues related to the safe use of chemicals in the first two years of an undergraduate program in chemistry. Some information of a more advanced nature has been pruned, because delving into these topics would have considerably increased the size of the booklet and because the primary use of this booklet has been and continues to be for topics appropriate for first- and second-year college students. This change is reflected in the title, along with the focus on a positive safety culture with the phrase 'best practices'." (publisher's description)
"Laboratory work is a critical component of all chemistry programs, beginning with
introductory-level undergraduate classes. Therefore, students need to develop a solid foundation in the basic principles and procedures of laboratory safety and to deepen their knowledge as they progress through their academic career. To care about safety and develop a safety ethic, students need to learn the “why” behind safety so that they can identify safety issues and can make decisions that reflect their personal safety values and knowledge." (publisher's description)
Major changes in the 2015 NFPA 45 clarify rules and provide up-to- date fire safety requirements for new and existing laboratories. NFPA 45: Standard on Fire Protection for Laboratories Using Chemicals is the comprehensive source for requirements for the fire safe design and operation of instructional, educational, and industrial laboratories to avoid injury to lab occupants. This Standard outlines the maximum allowable quantities of liquids and gases, as well as requirements for laboratory ventilating systems and chemical fume hoods. An expanded scope and new chapter help protect students and staff in school laboratories. NFPA 45 now applies to all educational and instructional laboratories, independent of the quantity of chemicals present. In response to recent incidents involving injuries to students and faculty, a new chapter on Educational and Instructional Laboratories was added to this edition, with requirements intended to protect people during experiments and demonstrations involving hazardous materials. Other changes in the 2015 edition clarify application and help designers, installers, facility managers, and AHJs comply. By spelling out which chapters in NFPA 45 apply to new and existing facilities, the 2015 edition makes it easier for designers, facility managers, owners, and enforcers to ensure the correct protocols are in place. Other changes impact specific facilities, chemicals, and safety controls. Clarified requirements explain where Class A, B, C, and D laboratory units are permitted below grade. New requirements address fire retardant clothing. New requirements for inert atmosphere glove boxes address the need for equipment to prevent fires caused by air- and water- reactive chemicals. New safe handling requirements are provided for handling pyrophoric reagents and water-reactive material. New safety control rules for open flame operations improve safety by reducing risks to personnel. Keep laboratory personnel,
Additional guidelines and best practices resources
"Terry Jo Gile (the Safety Lady) and Dan Scungio have completely updated this trusted lab safety training and compliance resource for 2014. The Complete Guide to Laboratory Safety, Fourth Edition, consolidates regulations from all relevant agencies, including OSHA, The Joint Commission, CAP, CLSI, DOT, and state health departments. This proven guide offers customizable policies, procedures, and checklists to develop and update a compliance program and avoid costly fines. The Complete Guide to Laboratory Safety will help you: - Create and update your policies and procedures with fully customizable templates - Build a culture of safety with checklists and tools related to topics including waste management, specimen transportation, chemical hygiene, and ergonomics in the lab setting - Keep up to date with regulations from OSHA, The Joint Commission, - CAP, CLSI, DOT, and state regulators - Employ best practices to avoid worker injury and costly citations What's New? - This edition is updated with all relevant regulations, including the new American National Standards Institute (ANSI) guidelines for fire safety and the revised International Air Transportation Association (IATA) requirements - New case studies are featured in each chapter." (publisher's description)
"This book discusses how the basic principles of chemical safety can be incorporated in chemical education curricula. It includes numerous examples and techniques, and it describes chemical laboratory compliance programs written in accordance with OSHA's laboratory standards. The book emphasizes the teaching of complex toxicological, regulatory, industrial hygiene, and chemical hazard information." (publisher's description)
"The second edition of this concise hands-on guide to implementing Good Laboratory Practice standards has been fully updated to include the latest changes in the regulatory framework. Particularly the areas of in vitro testing and multi-site studies have undergone considerable developments in recent years. This practice-oriented guide introduces the reader to the background, basic principles, operating procedures and OECD standards. It gives invaluable information on how to avoid pitfalls and save precious time and resources." (publisher's description)
"This handbook provides the tools necessary to create and maintain a safe work environment. It provides a starting point for any chemical safety study, from providing information on proper chemical and equipment handling to guidance on purchasing, storage, use and disposal. The safe use of specialized equipment is outlined and answers to both simple and complex questions related to workplace and environmental laws and regulations help keep you in compliance with the strict regulatory world. Emergency preparedness plans are given, enabling facilities to pre-plan for most emergency situations and spill prevention and cleanup plans are included. In addition to these chemical safety topics, this book includes industrial hygiene issues, radiation safety practices, safe laboratory and facility design criteria, bio safety issues and more. This is the single most useful how-to guide available on issues related to chemical safety and will be an absolute necessity in any lab, chemist, chemical hygiene officer or safety specialist's workplace." (publisher's description)
There are several specific OSHA standards that apply to laboratories as well as other OSHA standards that apply to various aspects of laboratory activities. This website highlights OSHA standards and documents related to laboratories.
There is growing concern about the possible use of toxic industrial chemicals or other hazardous chemicals by those seeking to perpetrate acts of terrorism. The U.S. Chemical Security Engagement Program (CSP), funded by the U.S. Department of State and run by Sandia National Laboratories, seeks to develop and facilitate cooperative international activities that promote best practices in chemical security and safe management of toxic chemicals, including: Partnering with host governments, chemical professionals, and industry to assess and fill gaps in chemical security abroad. Providing technical expertise and training to improve best practices in security and safety among chemical professionals and industry. Increasing transparency and accountability for dangerous chemical materials, expertise, and technologies. Providing opportunities for collaboration with the international professional chemical community. The Department of State called on the National Academies to assist in the CSP's efforts to promote chemical safety and security in developing countries.
Occupational safety & health and industrial hygiene resources
"This new and completely revised edition of the popular Handbook is an ideal, go-to resource for those who need to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control conditions that can cause injury or illness to employees in the workplace. Devised as a “how-to” guide, it offers a mix of theory and practice while adding new and timely topics to its core chapters, including prevention by design, product stewardship, statistics for safety and health, safety and health management systems, safety and health management of international operations, and EHS auditing." (publisher's description)
" The field of industrial hygiene has evolved, with personnel often working for multinational firms, at small consulting firms, or being self-employed. Their environment has changed and expanded, and so have the types of information and resources required as a result. The traditional areas of interest to occupational health and safety professionals include anticipation, recognition, evaluation and control of potential hazards. In addition to these topics, Patty’s Industrial Hygiene provides information and reliable resources to prepare for natural disasters, exposures to biological agents, and potential acts of terrorism. This cornerstone reference presents valuable information on the recognition and evaluation of chemical agents, physical agents, and biohazards in the workplace, as well as engineering control of exposure and personal protection." (publisher's description)