We are pleased to announce that Stanford University Libraries is accepting applications for a short-term research fellowship for scholars wishing to use the Gustave Gimon Collection on French Political Economy, held in the Libraries' Special Collections department. The Libraries annually awards stipends of $3000-$5000 (depending on the length of visit, expected to last from 2 to 4 weeks) in support of research in the collections. The fellowship stipends are to be used to defray the costs for travel, lodging, food, and other activities associated with the recipient's research trip. This fellowship program is funded by a grant from the Flora Family Foundation.

Scholars working on serious projects about French political economy may apply, including advanced graduate students at the dissertation phase of study. Selection criteria include the relevance of Gimon Collection to the candidate's project, the contribution that the finished work will make to our understanding of French political economy, and the applicant's qualifications. Recipients will be able to schedule their research visits in the 2024-2025 academic year. The scholar should plan on visiting while the university is in session so that he or she can meet with Stanford faculty and students.

There is no application form. Interested researchers are encouraged to send in a detailed project proposal of no more than 1000 words clearly stating why materials in the Gimon Collection are essential to carrying out the research project, two letters of recommendation from scholars in the field, and a curriculum vitae. For more information on the collection and its particular strengths, please see this overview of the collection, or contact the curator. The 2024 application deadline is April 12. 

Inquiries may be sent via email: Sarah Sussman, Curator of the French and Italian Collections
ssussman@stanford.edu