Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesFrench Studies: Reference shelf (dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies)
Learn about the main discipline-specific primary and secondary source resources, select the most appropriate one for their research question, do simple searches, and access the desired content
Reference works
- Le grand Robert de la langue française : dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue françaiseLargest French dictionary that includes analogies, etymologies, citations, conjugations...
- Dictionnaires des 16e et 17e sièclesSearchable dictionaries of the French language.
- Godefroy, dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue françaiseDictionary of Old French and its dialects, 9-14th centuries
- Oxford bibliographiesA series of peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics and links to Stanford resources - of particular interest are: Philosophy, Middle Ages, Renaissance and Reformation, Atlantic History, Art History
- Oxford handbooks onlineSearchable Oxford handbooks - in-depth essays by leading scholars and great way to start research or quickly fill a gap.
Libraries and Archives
- Archives editorialesDatabase of finding aids to archives of publishers in Francophone Europe and Canada.
- Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)The website of the French national library, with access to specialized catalogs and Gallica, the French digital library.
- Catalogue collectif de FranceFrench national union catalog containing federated search of library catalogs throughout the country. Includes specialized catalogs for archival and manuscript materials, music, and Jewish libraries.
- FranceArchivesFrance's national archival platform, with a database of finding aids (inventaires) to collections in French repositories, and other resources.
- French Archive DirectoryShort write-ups by scholars with first-hand insights about doing research in French archives. From the Society for the Study of French History (UK)
Specialized guides and inventories
- Les Européens en Algérie (1830-1962) database of archival sourcesA guide to primary sources on the European populations of French Algeria located in public repositories in France
