Asahi shimbun digital provides the latest news released in the past 24 hours and full-page images of the past two weeks. It also enables users to search the full text articles, including clipped images from the past year, with a keyword and a publication date. The content is updated on a daily basis, and the database always includes the latest information. Asahi Shimbun Digital is provided on a separate platform with five concurrent users per institution.

Asahi News Database is one of the largest newspaper databases of Japan containing more than 13 million items. It includes articles and advertisements of the Asahi Shinbun newspaper since its first issue in 1879 (both the Tokyo and Osaka editions). Full-text search is available for all material after 1985. It also provides access to the weekly magazines, AERA and Shukan Asahi, and the Historical Photo Archive, which includes approximately 10-thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period. It includes a “Who’s Who” database and a contemporary word dictionary with over 8,000 of the latest terms. It has a robust historical keyword searching function, which will pull up relevant articles even if they do not include the specified keyword. The Image Database of Post WWII (1945-1989) contains 88,000 pages of the Asahi Shimbun and allows searching of advertisements.

Includes Yomiuri Shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people. It is possible to look up any word in an article simply by highlighting and selecting the dictionary button.

Nikkei Telecom 21 provides full text access to 日本経済新聞 (1876-1961, and 1981/10-present), 日経産業新聞 (1981/10-present), 日経流通新聞 (1985/10-present), 日経金融新聞 (1987/10-2008/1), Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles), and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles). It also offers English sources, such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly, and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers.

Maisaku provides full-text access to the Mainichi Shinbun (1872 (Meiji 5)- present), including the Tokyo and Osaka editions (1876-1942), which are in pdf format until 1988. After 1999, only html is available. Maisaku includes Mainichi Shinbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Newspaper findings on public opinions and political party approval ratings are also available at ヨミロンサーチ. As search terms are limited, browsing is recommended.

This database provides access to all articles published by the Okinawa Times, the leading regional newspaper for the Okinawa area. The newspaper provides a regional, Okinawa-centered view of Japanese history, society, politics and events as they happen, as well as coverage of people and events not included in national Japanese newspapers.

Ryukyu shinpo article database. Library also has the physical newspaper.

The daily newspaper, Taiwan nichinichi shinpo, was published from 1898 to 1944 in Japanese along with Chinese text from 1905 to 1911. It is an official newspaper published by the Government-General of Taiwan, an important resource to know the condition of Taiwan for these years. The database provides both a Chinese and Japanese interface.

Asahi Shimbun's English-language newspaper.

English-language newspaper covering Japan-related news. Database of digitized issues of the Japan times, The Japan advertiser, The Japan times & mail, The Japan times and advertiser, Japan times & advertiser, Japan times advertiser, Nippon times. The Archive includes all but the most recent year.

Largest and longest circulating Japanese-language newspaper published in colonial Korea from 1907 to 1945. Image files, provided in PDF format, are not searchable but can be browsed by date.

Made available by Kobe University Library, the Newspaper Clippings Collection covers the period from the end of Meiji through 1969 and contains approximately 500,000 articles.

Japanese government sponsored newspaper in Taiwan during the colonial period. Database interface is in Chinese, but the content is in Japanese