Image database searchable by key terms, metadata, URL, or by providing an image. All search results available through IIIF standards and viewable in a provided IIIF image viewer.

Centralized platform for performing digital content searches across 128 libraries and archives in Japan. User-friendly filters permit effective browsing. Search results also link to curated galleries of related content.

Cultural Japan collects over a million image objects in a central location. The Self Museum allows users to construct a 3-D virtual museum, using IIIF manifests to “hang” digital images on the exhibition walls.

Central landing page for a digital humanities center with members from the National Institute of Informatics and the Institute of Statistical Mathematics. Bountiful open source databases and code packages that cover a variety of disciplines. Notable projects are highlighted elsewhere in this document.

Database of daimyo and their personnel, with domain maps, animated sankin kōtai maps and more. Documents are KuroNet linked for Kuzushiji OCR.

A centralized portal for images and documents related to Edo travel, shopping, maps, food, arts, government, economy, natural disasters, news, and education.

Searchable database of IIIF images of places in Edo. Browsable by source, keyword, place name, and more.

A curated database of Edo storefront signs and business registries, browsable by publication source, size, proprietor name, business type, location, etc.

A central location for databases of rare books, historical gazetteers, maps of ruins, maps of Old Beijing, Buddhist cave temples, and more.

An open-source website curated by Carrie Cushman & Steven Geofrey, hosted by the University of British Columbia, that archives the history of photography, feminist art history, and the history of modern Japan.

A camera app that supports same-composition photography. Allows users to compose “before and after” photographs of historical places.

A database of images of human faces, searchable by sex, facing direction, social rank, source, year, features, and more. Offers data sets for machine learning. Features an AI assistant that can detect faces within images.

A whiteboard space for curating a personalized collection of self-selected images, with labeling capabilities.

A platform for comparing similar texts and viewing, with AI assistance, minute changes from version to version. Useful for comparing sequential issues of gazetteers, serial portraits, etc. Includes open source code.